two cellos (1999) 6′
flute, piano (1984) 14′, four movements

published by Sweet Child Music

  • National Federation of Music Clubs Honorable Mention, 1987

Consequential Suite is one of my earliest concert works, written after I had spent the previous six years immersed in big band jazz arranging. Thus, its harmonies are often influenced by jazz , but its form is more neoclassical in conception. A prominent theme is clearly stated in the introductions to the first and second movements; a florid version of this theme comprises the entire third movement, which then reappears in the coda of the fourth movement. Beyond this theme, each movement is based on its own melodic and harmonic ideas.

Tagged with →  
Share →

Leave a Reply